Music, NT Artist Northern Territory


Four Lost Songs
More Info

Presented by Darwin Symphony Orchestra in association with Darwin Festival and NT Writers’ Centre

Witness the exciting world premiere of a new song cycle by celebrated Australian composer Emma Jayakumar, based on the stunning works of four talented NT Indigenous poets and featuring Australian soprano Rachelle Durkin.

Echoing this new commission by Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Four Lost Songs celebrates the unique stories told by our poets in a diverse program that includes not only this special Festival collaboration, but also Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis by Vaughan Williams and a performance of Stravinsky’s Petrushka Ballet Suite. Stravinsky’s truly remarkable work showcases the artistic and technical prowess of the Orchestra.

Four Lost Songs promises to be an awe-inspiring meeting of music, poetry and drama.


Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Emma Jayakumar Four Lost Songs (World Premiere)

Igor Stravinsky Petrushka Ballet Suite

  • Conductor Jonathan Tooby
  • Soloist Rachelle Durkin (Soprano)
  • Composer Emma Jayakumar
  • Photo Tim Nicol Photography

You might also like...

Our Partners

Sign up to Darwin Festival e-news